David R. Cox Prize for Rare Compassion


2015 David R. Cox Prize for Rare Compassion Winners Announced

Global Genes, in partnership with Students Advocates for Rare and Neglected Diseases (STAND), is proud to announce the 2015 David R. Cox Prize for Rare Compassion winners.
To learn more about the David R. Cox Prize for Rare Compassion, click here.


CoxSF - Ang Xu1st place
The Complexities of Medicine Lie Outside Textbooks and Examination Rooms
Subject: Congenital Central Hypoventilation Syndrome
Author: Ang Xu
Medical School: Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX


CoxSF - Margaret Culpit.png2nd place
What Mason Taught Me: The Sad Truth About Rare Diseases
Subject: Pediatric hepatocellular carcinoma/pediatric cancer
Author: Margaret Cupit
Medical School: Mayo Medical School, Rochester, MN


CoxSF - Lauren Meiss.jpg

3rd place
The Strength Within
Subject: Cystic Fibrosis
Author: Lauren Meiss
Medical School: University of California San Francisco, San Francisco, CA


CoxSF - Alexandra G Larsen.jpgHonorable mention
Let me not die while I am still living: Strength in the face of Chronic Illness
Subject: Lymphangiectasia
Author: Alexandra Giantini Larsen
Medical School: Harvard Medical School, Cambridge, MA


CoxSF - Rachel DAmico.jpgHonorable mention
The Power of a Name
Subject: PURA Syndrome
Author: Rachel D’Amico
Medical School: The Ohio State University College of Medicine, Columbus, OH



Global Genes and STAND celebrate these award winners and all of the medical students who participated in the Cox Prize this year. We also thank the patient and families who are connected with our Foundation Alliance and who opened up their homes and lives to help future physicians learn more and develop compassion for the daily challenges facing the rare community.
Go to About the Prize for more background about this program, the selection and eligibility criteria.  Read our press release on the 2015 Award Winners. 

We look forward to announcing the 2016 David R. Cox Prize for Rare Compassion program early next year and again congratulate all of the students who took part in this year’s program.