Katherine Rauen, MD, MS, PhD

Professor and Medical Geneticist, University of California – Davis
RASopathies Researcher
RASopathies Network Scientific Advisory Board
Presidential Early Career Awardee for Scientists and Engineers


kr small

Katherine (Kate) Rauen, MD, PhD is a Professor in the Department of Pediatrics, Division of Genomic Medicine at the UC Davis where she currently serves as the Chief of Genomic Medicine. She received a MS in Human Physiology and a PhD in Genetics from UC Davis doing research on gene dosage compensation and genetic evolution. She obtained her MD at UC Irvine where she also did research in cancer genetics. Dr. Rauen did her residency training in Pediatrics and fellowship in Medical Genetics at UC San Francisco.

Dr. Rauen is internationally known for her pioneering work in the application of array CGH in clinical genetics and as a leader and major contributor to the understanding of the “RASopathies”, the Ras/MAPK pathway genetics syndromes. Her research program involves the clinical and basic science study of cancer syndromes with effort to identify underlying genetic abnormalities affecting common developmental and cancer pathways. Dr. Rauen led the research team, including the CFC International Family Support Group that discovered the genetic cause of cardio-facio-cutaneous syndrome.

Dr. Rauen is committed to academic medicine, medical education, and advancing best practices for patients with RASopathies. She has successfully obtained both intramural and extramural funding for her research activities, and currently holds a 5-year NIH grant studying skeletal myogenesis in Costello syndrome and CFC. She is the innovator of the world-renowned NF/Ras Pathway Clinic which she initiated in 2007 and this clinic has now been emulated around the globe. She serves on the medical advisory board of CFC International and is a Co-Director for the Costello Syndrome Family Network.

Dr. Rauen was recently awarded the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers.